2017 Iowa Meat Judging Results

April 5, 2017

The 2017 Iowa State University Meat Judging Team competed in the First Annual Missouri Association of Meat Processors Invitational Intercollegiate Meat Judging Contest held at the University of Missouri Meat Lab on Saturday, March 4.  The team was named the Champion team in this unique contest featuring processed meat products provided by processors from across Missouri.


Divisional team awards included: 2nd in total questions, 3rd in specifications, total placings, and team reasons.


Individual awards included: Drew Wilson (Delhi) – 3rd high individual, 2nd in total placings, and 4th in specifications; Beth Zuber (Marengo) – 4th high individual, 5th in specifications, 6th in total questions, and 8th in total placings; Stephanie Martin (Vincent) – 9th high individual, 1st in total questions, and 10th in total placings; Annika Johnson (Hartford) – 7th in total questions. The team also includes Austin Lanphier (New Sharon) and Taylor Wulf (Hudson).


Coaches are Dr. Sherry Olsen, Michaella Fevold (Story City), Rachel Wynn (Bedford, IN) and Laura Yoder (Kalona).