38th Annual Meat Evaluation Contest

February 11, 2016

The Department of Animal Science, Iowa State University Meat Science Extension, American Meat Science Association and faculty and staff are holding the 38th Annual Meat Evaluation Contest at the Meat Lab in Kildee Hall on Saturday, February 13.  This Intercollegiate event includes Kansas State University, Michigan State University, North Dakota State University, South Dakota State University, Tarleton State University, Ohio State University, The University of Missouri, The University of Nebraska and of course Iowa State University.  The Contest is not open to public.  According to ANS faculty Member Dr. Sherrlyn Olsen, the purpose of the event is to train young men and women and prepare them to go out into the workforce in the meat industry.  Olsen says some students will graduate with their BS, some will go on to Veterinary Medicine and some will continue on into a graduate program.  She continues to say that this is such an important event.  It gives students hands-on experience with some of the top professionals in the nation and it allows them to give reasons and place a team and work together as a team doing it.  

Saturday's contest will be a non traditional contest with fresh product and processed meat including beef, pork, lamb and turkey carcass.  There will be both wholesale and retail cuts.  There will also be a class of fresh sausage and slab bacon.  The day will conclude with an awards banquet at the Quality Inn and Suites at 7pm.

The sponsors for the event are Seaboard Foods, W&G Marketing, Inc, Eldred and Donna Harman Endowment, American Meat Science Association, Judy and James Bergkamp, Sr., Burke Corporation, Robert Crom, Skye and Darin Doerscher, Kendra Doty, Patrick Frank, Dr. Casey Frye, Julie and Terry Gray, Hormel Foods Corp, Hy-Vee Inc, Iowa Corn Growers Association, Iowa Farm Bureau Federation, Iowa Meat Processors Association, Iowa State University Alumni and Friends, Iowa State University Department of Animal Science, Iowa State University Meat Science Extension, Jennie-O Turkey Stores, Kent nutrition Group, Bradley Knudson, Drs. Eliszabeth Huff-Lonergan and Steven Lonergan, Theresa and George Ludeking,  MP Farms, Jodi and Kent Pulfer, Carole and Merril Neary, OSI Industries, LLC, Jodie Pitcock, Smithfield Foods, and Karen and David Stender.