ISU & Dairy students receive scholarships

September 27, 2017

Three ISU Dairy Science students received awards reported by Hoard's Dairyman. Sabrina Portner and Emily Irwin both received the Merton Sowerby Junior Merit Scholarship for 2017. This scholarship is designed to encourage qualified junior status undergraduate students to pursue careers in the dairy industry or related occupations. It's named in the honor of National Dairy Hall of Fame Pioneer and Klussendorf recipient Merton Sowerby. Carly Krull received the Maurice Core Scholarship which is in honor of Maurice Core, the long time executive secretary of the American Jersey Cattle Association and former executive director of the National Dairy Shrine.