National Pork Producers Council Awards Lois Britt Scholarships

March 9, 2018

NPPC Friday at its annual business meeting – the National Pork Industry Forum – awarded scholarships to 10 college students who intend to pursue careers in the pork industry. The Lois Britt Memorial Pork Industry Scholarship program is sponsored by CME Group and the National Pork Industry Foundation and managed and administered by NPPC. The 2018 winners of the $2,500 scholarships are:

• Jacob Sterle, Iowa State University, Animal Science

• Erin Bryan, University of Illinois

• Tim Grote, University of Illinois

• Reid Hansen, South Dakota State University

• Madeline Herring, Iowa State University, Animal Science

• Macy Marek, Iowa State University, Ag and Life Sciences Education

• John Eilertson, Casper College

• Ben Wikner, Iowa State University, Agricultural Studies

• Jaclynn Knutson, South Dakota State University 

• Gabe Greiner, Kirkwood Community College

The scholarship program was introduced in 1990 by CME Group and NPPC to celebrate the 25th anniversary of CME Hog futures. The scholarship was renamed in 2006 to honor the passing of NPPC board member and Vice President Lois Britt, a lifetime supporter of agriculture.