Skip to main content

Dairy science students attend the 2021 Virtual American Dairy Science Association Annual Meeting

Champaign, IL – Four undergraduate students (Jessica Schmitt, Cynthia Hamlett, Beckie Burns, and Olivia Ruffner) from Iowa State University attended the virtual 2021 Annual Meeting of the American Dairy Science Association® (ADSA®) July 11-14, 2021. The meeting attracted nearly 90 students and their advisors along with more than 1,200 professionals and guests from the US, Mexico, Canada, and beyond.

During the meetings students participated in professional development, educational and networking events along with multiple competitions including paper and poster competitions. Students also had the opportunity to attend virtual symposia, oral sessions and poster sessions presented by professional members of the organization.

The students attended the meetings as members of the American Dairy Science Association Student Affiliate Division (ADSA-SAD). The ADSA-SAD is a division of the parent organization that works to develop leadership and promote scholarship among students interested in the dairy industry, and to encourage students toward careers in dairy science. There are nearly 300 undergraduate student members in ADSA.

Jessica Schmitt was elected President for 2021-2022, Cynthia Hamlett received the prestigious Genevieve Christen Distinguished Undergraduate Student Award and the ISU Dairy Science Club placed first in the Chapter Yearbook competition. Three Iowa State students were recognized by ADSA with the Outstanding Student Scholarship award and those individuals were: Beckie Burns, Cynthia Hamlett and Jessica Schmitt. 

ADSA was established in 1906 as a scientific and educational association to serve the dairy and dairy-related industries. It facilitates the discovery, application and dissemination of dairy science knowledge and information.