Results of the 44th Iowa State University Meat Evaluation Contest

The Iowa State University Meat Laboratory hosted the 44th edition of the Iowa State University Meat Evaluation Contest on Saturday, February 26, 2022. Nearly 65 students represented teams from Kansas State University – Manhattan; North Dakota State University – Fargo; Oklahoma State University – Stillwater; Purdue University – West Lafayette, IN; South Dakota State University – Brookings; The Ohio State University – Columbus; University of Illinois – Champaign/Urbana; University of Missouri – Columbia; University of Nebraska - Lincoln; and Iowa State University - Ames competed in the event.

The Iowa State University team placed 5th overall, and in divisions finished 1st in team boneless hams; 3rd in beef grading; and 5th in reasons. The top four teams in the contest were: Kansas State University, Oklahoma State University, South Dakota State University, and the University of Illinois.

Individual results included: Christina Speicher (New Hampton) - 10th high individual in overall contest, 4th in beef grading, 5th in specifications, 10th in pork judging, and Iowa State University High Individual; Ty Houston (Mondamin) - 6th in beef judging, 7th in lamb judging, and 8th in total reasons; Danielle Winslow (Culver City, CA) - 5th in beef grading. In the alternate division, Claire Cunningham (Trumbull, CT) placed 8th high individual in overall division, 1st in lamb judging, 5th in beef grading, 9th in beef judging and total placings, and 8th in total reasons. Additional team members include: Jacob Ludeking (Norway) and Kylee Weber (Ida Grove). The team is coached by graduate student Caroline Downey (Putnam, IL) and Dr. Sherry Olsen with assistance from graduate students Kayla Hospodarsky (Cedar Rapids) and Jacob Manternach (Osceola).

Appreciation is extended to the Department of Animal Science, as well as the Iowa State University Meat Lab faculty and staff, graduate and undergraduate students, and meat judging team alumni and volunteers that assisted in hosting a successful event. Also recognized are the large number of donors who continue to make this contest possible.

Left to right: Jacob Manternach, Danielle Winslow, Kylee Weber, Ty Houston, Clare Cunningham, Christina Speicher, and Dr. Sherry Olsen.

2022 Intercollegiate Meat Judging Competition