Skip to main content

2023 Animal Science Banquet Recap

On Saturday, April 15th, the Animal Science Department was able to host almost 200 people to celebrate and acknowledge students’ achievements within the department. Attendees enjoyed networking with fellow peers, colleagues, and sponsors before sitting down to a prime rib dinner prepared by Iowa State University’s very own meat lab. Guests finished off their meal with ice cream prepared by the members of the ISU Dairy Science Club.  

Department Chair Jason Ross opened the banquet by taking a few minutes to share the success of the department created by faculty, staff, and students over the past year and the bright future he sees in the years ahead. During the program, guests heard from Meats judging coach, Sherry Olsen, and livestock judging coach, Will Taylor, sharing the success both teams had over the summer. The Animal Science and Dairy Science scholarship recipients were recognized by being asked to stand for a round of applause. These scholarships would not have been made possible without the generous support of donors and sponsors of the department.  

The Iowa State Block & Bridle Club continued the program by providing a year overview and announcing their scholarship recipients as well as Outstanding Member awards. Finally, the department was proud to announce the recipients of the 2023 L.N. Hazel University Service Award, Grace Christensen and Sarah Phelps. The department would like to thank all the attendees for coming out and supporting our students and looks forward to hosting another successful event next year.



2023 L.N. Hazel University Service Award recipients, Grace Christensen (left) and Sarah Phelps.
2023 Block & Bridle Outstanding Member Awards, (from left to right) Logan Pickhinke, Billy Mccoy, Leah Greiner, Nathan Manternach, Kaitie Jimmerson, and Taylor Sublette.
2023 Block & Bridle Scholarship Recipients, (from left to right) Nathan Manternach, Megan Clark, Lindsey Jennett, Kailen Smerchek, and Sarah Phelps.