Iowa State University Intercollegiate Meat Judging Team Completes First Contest of the Season

The 2023 Iowa State University Intercollegiate Meat Judging Team competed in their first contest of the fall season at the recent Hormel National Barrow Show Meat Judging Contest (Austin, MN). Hosted by our friends at Hormel, the contest classes are comprised of fresh and processed pork products, and students evaluate products for defects and answer questions pertinent to selected classes.

Team members include: Jillian Anderson (Montgomery, IL); Kailey Clark (Grand Mound, IA); Bridget Fisher (Wellman, IA); Ashtyn Jolly (Lancaster, KS); Anna Nafziger (Wellman, IA); Lacey Smith (Anamosa, IA); and Keegan Zimmerly (Independence, IA). The team is coached by Jacob Manternach (ISU Extension Industry Specialist); and Kayle Eivins (Meat Science Graduate Student).

The ISU team finished third in the field of four teams behind Kansas State University and the University of Illinois. South Dakota State University also competed in the event. Division results for ISU included: Fresh – 2nd; Processed – 2nd; Questions – 2nd; Defects – 3rd; and Placings – 4th. Individual results included: Overall Contest – Jolly (8th), Anderson (9th); Fresh – Zimmerly (4th), Smith (10th); Processed – Anderson (3rd), Nafziger (9th), Smith (10th); Questions – Anderson (4th), Smith (5th), Zimmerly (6th); Defects – Jolly (7th), Clark (10th); Placings – Jolly (5th).

The next contest for this team will be the American Royal contest hosted by Nebraska Beef (Omaha, NE) on Sunday, October 15th, followed by The International National Championship on Sunday, November 12th (hosted by Tyson Fresh Meats, Dakota City, NE).

On Saturday, August 26th, the team played a major role in the success of the 2023 Iowa State FFA Meat Judging Contest hosted in the ISU Meat Laboratory. This team worked to select the classes for the event and served as the official committee. Fifteen teams, with nearly 55 young men and women, competed in the annual event. The champion team was the South O’Brien – Paullina FFA Meat Judging Team, with reserve champion honors going to the Sioux Central FFA Meat Judging Team.